Living for Christ

This week at Winter Exodus we talked a lot about confidence. The confidence we need to stand out for our faith and live real.

We got a packet that had “core lies” on it. These are things we tell ourselves and they are never true. Things like:

  1. You are not good enough
  2. You are not worthy
  3. You are unwanted

I have always been so concerned in what other people think of me. I have always wanted to be called pretty and to be considered popular. It took me a long time to realize that none of that matters. What matters is the opinion of yourself and how much you show God throughout your life.

Although one thing that happened throughout the past couple years is the viewpoint I had on myself. I had an awful mindset. I cared too much of what others thought of me. My thoughts were negative towards myself.

These week Liz told us to go analyze our past and the things we tell ourselves come from it most of the time. Mine come from my fifth grade year when I was bullied. But that viewpoint of not being good enough has followed me to my teenager years.

These week the major thing I prayed for is peace from that viewpoint. To let myself not be afraid of failure and to have the confidence I need to live my life for Christ.

That starts with being myself but it also starts with telling myself the truth of God’s word.

When I saw we were reading about God’s truth my mind immediately went to Ephesians 6: 10-20 which discusses the Armor of God. I mean I know it’s something you learn when you are little (especially watching “Bibleman”) but I think we forget far too often the truth of God’s word.To build ourselves up with it and protect ourselves from evil.

Ephesians 6:10-20

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. 19 Pray also for me, that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.

We have to prepare ourselves for the battles in our life so that we have the confidence to stand firm and be a warrior of God. We have to get in the word more. I think I far too often haven’t found myself get in the word enough. I think I have made it more of a job than something I love to do and want to seek after. I haven’t prepared myself for lives battles like I needed too.

It was so hard too admit that my heart wasn’t fully there and it wasn’t fully in it. This week there was only one thing I wanted more of and that was a relationship with God. I wanted to be lead more by him than other people and things so I could show the world how even if I was unworthy; Christ came into my life and made me worthy. I have to prepare myself for that by putting on the Armor of God and getting into his word.

Another thing I loved this week was the song Reckless Love. And in the song it sings “he leaves the ninety-nine” which refers to Matthew 18:12. Explaining how God our shepherd leaves the heavens to go find us because he loves us so much and wants us to know Him.

Matthew 18:12

What do you think? If a man has a hundred sheep, and one of them has gone astray, does he not leave the ninety-nine on the mountains and go in search of the one that went astray?

He goes and finds the ones astray the ones who need him most. To me it just shows how diligent and loving our God is toward us and I am so proud to live for the one who goes and finds his sheep.

So this is just somethings I learned at Winter Exodus this week and I was taught a lot. Live boldly my friends and prepare yourself for lives battles. Never allow others to affect the way you live for Christ. Be God fearing and know he will never let us down.

Leave a comment