Tears Not Wasted.

So I kept on getting questions about Substate and how I felt about it in the past couple of days so I am going to tell you the story about Substate and State. Okay so on the bus ride to Substate I started crying and started praying. I asked God to let us break through and to calm our nerves. I asked him to let us go to State and to let us win. And I asked him not to waste my tears. I don’t like to cry but I cry a lot actually. I asked him to not waste my tears I shed at Substate and to let us get through. I was so disappointed during my round because I was playing terrible. Like terrible for me and I was so concerned we were not going to get through. On the 17th hole I literally said “at this point I’m playing so bad I hope I just make it individually” I thought I let my team down by shooting an 84 that I gave up hope too early. On the last hole I made bogey but as soon as I picked up my golf ball I asked God not to waste these tears and this overwhelming feeling came over me and I knew. I just knew we made it through. You see I knew what the other girls in my group had shot and I knew that they did badly too (except for Mikayla) and I just knew. I knew God heard my prayer and wasn’t going to waste my tears even though I played so so badly. We had made it to State and I knew we were going to win. I don’t know how but I just knew. At State I was a nervous wreck to say the least on the first day but no one knew. Everyone thought I was so calm because I handle my emotions so well. Before I went out Willis told me that I am playing for everyone but everyone was also playing for me and this was my time to take this team and lead and I think I really took that to heart. Before we started I felt my nerves and I squatted down to pray. I asked God to be with each and of the girls on my team today and to calm down their nerves and I asked him to calm mine as well. I asked God to keep me focused and calm and to do this for my town and for my family and friends and for my Mamaw but most of all for Him. I asked I’m to keep me with a clear mind and sound thought so that I may make good decisions and not worry about score but take one shot at a time. Willis later told me that he though “oh no she is about to blow up” but little did he know I was just getting my head in the game. Throughout my two rounds at State I had to keep telling myself “I can hit this fairway” and “I can hit this green” and “I can do this” my mindset really got me through and helped me shoot my score. I don’t know the course that well like people think I do but I know it alright but it was where my mindset was that really helped me and guided me. God didn’t waste my tears but he helped me overcome them and he helped me win State with my team and finish in third place. God hears each of our cries for help and while the answer might not be what you think it will be at first he will show you the way. You see I would have never learned the mentality of my golf game if I didn’t grow through what happened at Substate. And I am so thankful God collected my tears and answered my cries. My tears are not wasted and he has been oh so good to me. Praise Jesus forever and always.

Leave a comment